Welcome to ENGAGE

Self Care vs. Community Care

I recently read an article by B. Lowe entitled An End to Self Care. Then I read the following response, Privilege, reparations, and communities of care by Caroline Picker. I’m interested to hear your thoughts.

 

One comment on “Self Care vs. Community Care

  1. Melanie
    April 29, 2013

    Thank you for posting these two articles. I know I have often heard that change must first happen within and that one must love and know themselves before they can effectively reach out and make change around them. There’s a prevalent attitude that goes something like “if I can’t take care of myself, how can I take care of someone else?” I definitely agree with Picker though that some level of self-care is necessary. I think the definition of self-care needs to be expanded and hope people recognize that care for self can be an offspring of care for and investment in community. The first article does a good job of linking personal issues with larger social and structural trends that effect vast numbers of people in similar ways. I also think both authors brought up legitimate points about the tie between practicing self care and socio-economic status. That’s something that I hadn’t considered much up to this point was how my status as a white upper middleclass female might allow me more freedom and leisure time to indulge myself in so many ‘self-care’ practices.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

